Nebraska Wheat Board

The Nebraska Wheat Board (NWB) was formed in 1955 after the Nebraska Wheat Resources Act was passed. All NWB policies are established by a seven-member board of directors. The board of directors is composed of wheat producers from Nebraska who are appointed by the Governor. In addition to the board, an executive director and a marketing specialist serve as full-time employees, with a three-quarter staff assistant.


The Nebraska Wheat Board districts are pictured below, with district 7 serving as the At-Large director for the whole state.

Nwb Districts

Each bushel of wheat marketed in the state is assessed an excise tax of five-tenths of one percent (0.5%) of net value at the point of first sale. These monies are deposited into the State Treasury and are used by NWB to advance Nebraska’s wheat industry. Additional details on the process of collection as well as the checkoff regulations can be found at the Nebraska Department of Agriculture who helps administer the checkoff.

To ensure that funds are being spent in the best way, the board of directors oversees all expenditures. Funding proposals in each area are submitted on an annual basis, regardless of whether the research project or organization was funded the year before. The board completes two readings of the proposals and determines which will receive funds during the annual budget meeting held in May or June. Funds are invested in five areas as directed by the Nebraska Wheat Resources Act:

  • international marketing
  • domestic marketing,
  • research
  • federal farm policy
  • education and promotion